Personal Growth

Loving You: In The Mirror

As women (and some men too), we have a tendency to be very critical of ourselves. We don’t like our nose, our eyes, our body shape, our ears, our lips, our skin tone, our feet. None of us is perfect, but does that make us any less deserving of our own love? We love imperfect people all the time – children, spouses, family and friends. But, when oh when, do we give just a bit of that love to ourselves?

How about this – let’s start today! Loving yourself means loving every part of yourself — and being grateful for it. If you want to change something about yourself and you have the means to do it, I say go for it. Makeup and cosmetic surgery can certainly enhance what you have. Just understand that those things won’t bring you true happiness because happiness is a state of being that exists in your mind and is not controlled outwardly. One thing you can do right now today is to start loving your parts. Take five or ten minutes to yourself, when you can be by yourself – in the car, or the bathroom, or the bedroom – and look yourself in the mirror and say these words:

Hello Beautiful Me! I’m just checking in to let you know I love you. I love every part of you. I appreciate you. I appreciate every part of you. I love my nose because it allows me to experience the world around me through smell. I love my lips because my lips protect my teeth and they are ambassador to my mouth, which allows me to experience the world through taste and interact with others through speech. I love my eyes because they allow me to see love in the eyes of others. These beautiful ears let me hear sounds that soothe my soul or cause it to soar. This bottom of mine is beautiful, whether it is flat or round! It parks me where I need to be and works with my lovely legs and fabulous feet to take me where I need to go and keep me where I need to be. These breasts are beautiful mounds of joy that God gave me.  I can enhance them, reduce them, push them up or replace them — or not,  but I love them because they are part of this beautiful Temple that I’ve been given.

Whatever body you have, be happy and grateful for it because the alternative is not to have one! Although these things don’t matter as much as some of us think they do, I do know every woman needs to feel beautiful. There are entire industries built around this, so do avail yourself of whatever you need. As long as there is a balance, it is fine. If you need more hair, get extensions. If you have a blemish, get makeup. There are a myriad of products to change you: Make-up, hair dye, hair extensions, eyelash extensions, clothing, shapewear, moisturizers, creams, lotions and even cosmetic surgery.

Think of your body as valuable real estate. Maybe it isn’t the turnkey property you would like to have or the kitchen is cut off from the living room or all the bathrooms and closets are too small. But you got the property for free! What do you do? Fix it up! Does the kitchen or bathroom need renovating? Do you want to change the color on the walls? Do you want to expand your closet space? Maybe instead of a formal dining room you will have an office or recreation room. The possibilities are endless. So is your life. So is your body. So love that body and gently massage it into the turnkey real estate you desire it to be, while loving you every step of the way.

Live Happier,

Kae

One thought on “Loving You: In The Mirror

  1. Absolutely awesome,just the word for so many of us today. Inspired me to take what I have and improve it. Thanks!! Be blessed my sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

